Virginia Society of Health-System Pharmacists

Goodwin 2022 Pharmacist of the Year

11/29/2022 8:12 AM | Steve Glass (Administrator)

***As presented at the VSHP Fall Seminar, November 5, 2022***

The VSHP Pharmacist of the Year is a member with a record of service to the profession of pharmacy, specifically health system pharmacy.  This should include contributions to pharmacy programs within the Commonwealth ,  as well as cooperation and contributions to the health-care team. The awardee should be recognized by the profession as a leader within pharmacy Service to the community. 

This year’s winner is a graduate of the Campbell University School of Pharmacy, with a PGY-1 at Duke and a PGY-2 Internal Medicine, ID, and Academia at Campbell and Duke.  She has a long history of service to the Carilion system, but her nominator focused on her work with pharmacy technicians.  She established a 16-week technician training program to help combat technician shortages in the system. To establish the program, she had to develop internal technician talent and connect with area partners to provide the technician trainees with a well-rounded experience.  Her program has graduated 8 technicians with an 87% retention rate.  All of the technicians that have taken their PTCB exam to date have passed.  Her nominator states “It’s hard to fully describe the impact she has had on these students. She works hard to build a close relationship with each student that allows her to guide and mentor these students through pivotal points in their lives. Many students are looking for career changes, looking get into a healthcare career, or are relatively new to the workforce. She has fully embraced the opportunity she has to impact their lives and their careers, and it has truly made a huge difference in our department!”

Congratulations to VSHP Pharmacist of the Year, Megan Goodwin.


tel:  850-906-0779

fax:  678-401-0259

Copyright© 2022, Virginia Society of Health-System Pharmacists. All rights reserved.                                                                                                 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software