Virginia Society of Health-System Pharmacists

Jennifer E. Stallings College Bowl Results

11/15/2022 11:16 AM | Steve Glass (Administrator)

***As presented on 11/4/2022***

VSHP held our Annual the Jennifer E. Stallings College Bowl on Friday, November 4, 2022.  We were able once again gather four teams from our local Virginia Colleges of Pharmacy who have successfully won their local competitions. 

Here is a bit of background on how this College Bowl came to be.

On March 14, 2008, VSHP members were devastated to hear that Jennifer Elaine Stallings, Treasurer of VSHP, died suddenly due to a suspected Bilateral Pulmonary Embolism at 36 years of age.  Jennifer had been actively involved in VSHP, beginning with Student Chapter President and her passion and commitment continued through her last days as Treasurer. 

Jennifer was born at the Medical College of Virginia Hospital. After working and while attending William & Mary, Jennifer (an Honors student), decided to attend Pharmacy School and pursue her dream to become a pharmacist. In 1997, Jennifer graduated with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from VCU/MCV College of Pharmacy. 

After graduation from Pharmacy School, Jennifer worked for Sentara Health Systems and was certified in Warfarin dosing and taught classes at Old Dominion University for Nurse Practitioners.  Jennifer served as the VSHP Tidewater Regional President, Membership Chair, and she was a champion for pharmacy students throughout Virginia, she visited many pharmacy schools in Virginia to speak with students about VSHP, encouraging them to become involved and that joining an association is a wonderful way to give back.  In 2002, Jennifer was nominated, and won the VSHP Clinical Pharmacist of the Year Award. 

Jennifer was described by many as being a fun-loving, positive person, with an easy-going spirit who loved her family and her patients.

Before her unexpected death, Jennifer introduced a concept to VSHP called the VSHP College Bowl.  Now renamed the Jennifer E. Stallings College Bowl.  This scholarship fund was developed to offer financial support for travel and registration for the winning team(s) of the VSHP sponsored college bowl to attend the annual ASHP Midyear Clinical Skills Competition. Please visit our website at for more details on how to make your tax deductible contribution to the fund so we can continue Jennifer’s commitment to our future Healthcare Leaders

VSHP would like to acknowledge each of team with a Certificate of Achievement.  The winning team will receive a $1,000 scholarship award, $500.00 for each student from the Jennifer E. Stallings College Bowl Fund. 

Before I announce the winners, I want to thank the judges:

Richard Nicholas from Appalachian College of Pharmacy

Rebecca Anderson from Shenandoah University

Alexis Crawford from VCU


Alphabetically, by School name:

Alan Kurian and Annamay Fry from Appalachian College of Pharmacy

Samantha Burton and Natalie Parrish from the Bernard J. Dunn School of Pharmacy at Shenandoah University

Nia Haley from Hampton University - School of Pharmacy

Caitlyn Cason and Sterling Saunders from VCU School of Pharmacy


And the winning this year is ……..

Caitlyn Cason and Sterling Saunders from VCU School of Pharmacy

Congratulations to all of our participants




tel:  850-906-0779

fax:  678-401-0259

Copyright© 2022, Virginia Society of Health-System Pharmacists. All rights reserved.                                                                                                 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software